Rutherglen Glencairn Football Club


Rutherglen Glencairn 2 Ashfield 0

Wednesday 25th April 2018 - Central League Cup Round Two

(Report by Peter Ferguson)

 Gary Smith

Glencairn's goal scorers Paulross Caughey and Gary Smith.

Glencairn eased into the last 16 of the Central League Cup with a comfortable 2-0 win over Ashfield at The Celsius Stadium.

With the match taking place in the middle of a hectic spell of important league fixtures, manager Willie Harvey chose to shake up the starting line-up and rest a few players. Regular strikers Gary Smith and Jay McKay were left on the bench and replaced by under 21 pairing Jordan Davidson and Paulross Caughey.

Regular goalkeeper Jack Baker was still sidelined by injury and Monday night's trialist was unavailable, so it was 47-year-old goalkeeping coach Stevie Hutchison who was selected to wear the no.1 jersey. Club captain Tony Fraser and defender Craig McGregor were also rested although selected as substitutes.

The visitors were dealt a blow in the opening quarter of the match as they were reduced to ten men. The referee waved down his assistant's offside flag to allow Caughey to run through on goal before being brought down by defender Gordon Passmore, and the result was a straight red card.

Ashfield stuck in and frustrated Glencairn's advances throughout the rest of the first half and were pleased to go into the changing room at the interval still on level terms.

Half time : 0-0

The deadlock was broken in the second half and it was one of the under 21 strikers who made the breakthrough. Paulross Caughey controlled the ball with a fine first touch before clipping the ball over goalkeeper John Mullen.

With a lead now established against the ten men, Glencairn looked to kill the match off as top scorers Smith and McKay were brought off the bench to replace Davidson and Caughey.

It didn't take long for Gary Smith to continue his scoring spree, getting his head to a cross from the left to beat Mullen to make it 2-0, Smith's 26th goal of the season.

Ryan McArdle replaced McNab in Glencairn's final change, but there were to be no more goals as The Glens quietly but effectively booked their place in the third round draw.

Rutherglen Glencairn :- Hutchison, Grier, Kerr, Donaldson, Palmer, McGuire, Hall, McCall, Davidson (Smith), Caughey (McKay), McNab (McArdle). (Subs not used - McGregor, Fraser.)

Ashfield :- Mullen, Lynch, Leverage, Passmore, Maxwell, Friel, McLaughlin, Cullen, Kasubandi, Parker, Griffen. (Subs - Stevenson, Goodhall, Cairns, Dymock, Hamilton.)

Man of the match - (chosen by Lesley Donaldson) Rhys Donaldson.

Rhys Donaldson


Latest Glencairn news via Twitter